Fisheries Training Centre in Kiribati

Mauri (Welcome) and Thank You for visiting our site.

 The Kiribati Fisheries Training Centre, known as FTC is in the Republic of Kiribati. The establishment is actively concentrating on enhancing I-Kiribati young men’s fishing knowledge and skills to enable them to access employment oppourtunities abroad on foreign fishing boats and most importatnly to work safely and in harmony onboard a multi-cultural fishing vessel.  The Centre has been in full operation for more than two decades and more than a thousand young I-Kiribati men has successfully gone through the extensive trainings offered at the Centre. Trainings offered are all related to day to day lives aboard an active fishing vessel apart from modern fishing methods widely used.
With positive feedbacks from those who employs our graduates, we are proud to say that we are one of the leading fishery maritime training institute in the region. For those who have never been or heard of Kiribati, please do come onboard and allow us to give you some brief background information about our nation.
The Republic of Kiribati (pronounced “kee-ree-bas” or “kiribas”) is located in the heart of the Pacific Ocean, straddling the equator and greeting the first sunlight. It is located about midway between Hawaii and Australia. Kiribati is part of the ethnic pacific island groups known as Micronesians and the nationals are known as I-Kiribati.
Kiribati is composed of coral atolls on a submerged volcanic chain scattered across 5.2 million sq. km (2 million sq. miles) of the Central Pacific. 33 coral islands that made up the Republic of Kiribati are divided into three island groups: 17 islands in the Gilbert Group (including Banaba), 8 in the Phoenix Group and 8 in the Line Group. Of these 33 islands of the Republic of Kiribati, 21 are inhabited. All islands, with the exception of Banaba (Ocean Island), are low-lying and at risk of sea level rising.


Brief history

Formerly known as Gilbert Islands, it was declared the British Protectorate in 1892 and in 1915 the Gilbert and Ellice Islands Colony under the British empire was formed. In 1971 Gilbert and Ellice Islands gained self rule  but separated in 1975  and granted self internal government. Gilbert Islands became independent as Kiribati on 12th July 1979.
What we are
Kiribati is home to the South Pacific largest marine reserve.  We, I-Kiribati are people of the sea. It has been with us since birth. Our livelihood is dependent on marine resources for our daily sustenance and well-being. We pride ourselves as the greatest fishermen. We fished the waters our ancestors have fished and harvested much riches from the sea with skills passed through generations and that is an I-Kiribati everyday fisherman without formal training.
Key Facts    
  • Official Name – Republic of Kiribati
  • Independent – 12th July 1979
  • Land Area – 811 sq km
  • Population – 103,371
  • Capital City – Bairiki, Tarawa
  • Predominant Religions – Roman Catholic, Kiribati Protestant Church, Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints and Seventh Day Adventist
  • Official Language – Kiribati and English
  • Currency – Australian Dollar
  • EEZ – 3.55 sq km


    Ms Yoko Kobayasni “JICA/JOCV” (Dental Dep, TCH) Ms Ayumi Zuzuki “JICA/JOCV” (Japanese Language Teacher, FTC) Higashide san (Recruiting Officer, JTFC)

Posted in Home | Leave a comment